Moura leads between the Azoreans but it’s Ruben Rodrigues that shines

At the end of the second day, the Azorean competitors’ event scoreboard presents Ricardo Moura and António Costa (Ford Fiesta R5) as its natural leaders, since the team is involved in other classification struggles.

Luís Miguel Rego and Carlos Magalhães (Ford Fiesta R5) didn’t get quite lucky again during the day. After being the first team on the road on the first day of the event, today Luis Rego tried to get more acquainted with his new car in order to step up his driving ability. But a slow puncture in one of the Fiesta’s wheels, when the team was 10 km from completing the first run on Sete Cidades special stage, made the Azorean driver loose important time, denying any possibility for Rego to rise up at the overall classification.

But the real Azorean stars are Ruben and Estevão Rodrigues (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX). The brothers lead the ERC2 overall classification, besides they’re the third best Azorean formation at the event, being 18th overall. Wojciech Chuchala and Daniel Dymurski (Subaru Impreza STI) are second between ERC2 competitors with more 1:12,7. Pedro Vale and Rui Medeiros (Subaru Impreza STI) are third overall in ERC2, with 4,9 seconds than Chuchala.

The Azorean two wheel drive cars competition is being led by Rafael Botelho and Rui Raimundo (Citroen DS3 R3T), followed by João Faria and Carlos Medeiros (Peugeot 206 RC) and Ruben Santos and Nuno Pereira (Peugeot 106 Rallye) who leads also the Azorean competition for non-homologated cars.

Saturday leads Azores Airlines Rallye competitors’ to the east side of São Miguel Island for a double run on Graminhais and Tronqueira. Between those runs, competitors will pass again by Super Special stage Grupo Marques and by Vila Franca/São Brás.

Leg 2 Itinerary
Start of Leg 2 – 08:30
SS11 – Graminhais 1 (20,96 km) – 10:16
SS12 – Tronqueira 1 (21,71 km) – 11:06
SSS13 – Grupo Marques 2 (3,95 km) – 12:42
SS14 – Vila Franca/São Brás 2 (13,47 km) – 15:17
SS15 – Graminhais 2 (20,96 km) – 16:12
SS16 – Tronqueira 2 (21,71 km) – 17:02
Podium ceremony (Ponta Delgada) – 19:10

Azorean Rally Campionship overall classification – Leg 1
Pos # First driver Second driver Car Time
1 18 Ricardo Moura António Costa Ford Fiesta R5 21:16,0
2 20 Luis Miguel Rego Carlos Magalhães Ford Fiesta R5 +4:01,3
3 30 Ruben Rodrigues Estêvão Rodrigues Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +5:54,6
4 31 Pedro Vale Rui Medeiros Subaru Impreza +7:12,2
5 49 Hugo Mesquita Filipe Gouveia Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX +13:55,0
6 53 Rafael Botelho Rui Raimundo Citroen DS3 R3T +14:49,5
7 71 João Faria Carlos Medeiros Peugeot 206 RC +15:47,6
8 77 Ruben Santos Nuno Pereira Peugeot 106 +23:33,5
9 78 Pedro Ferreira Fernando Nunes Renault Clio Ragnotti +31:40,8
10 81 João Torres João Reis Toyota RAV4 +39:36,4