Moura and Costa are the best Portuguese in the Azores Airlines Rallye

As they did yesterday, Ricardo Moura and Antonio Costa (Ford Fiesta R5), who are running at home, enforced a strong pace driven by the fight for the podium in overall standing, and managed to win all the Friday stages. They finished the day in the first position of the Portuguese national championship, 2:28,0 ahead of second place.

Pedro Meireles and Mario Castro (Skoda Fabia R5) are the ones who have managed to do better among all the other contestants and, for now, are in second place. Jose Pedro Fontes and Ines Ponte (Citroen DS3 R5) haven’t been able to get closer to Meireles and Castro and occupy the third position of the national overall standing, falling 15,8s behind Meireles, and with a difference of 2:43,8 from the leader.

Miguel Barbosa and Miguel Ramalho (Skoda Fabia R5) have occupied the fourth position, with a difference of 4:11,1 from the first.

Algarve’s native, Ricardo Teodosio, along with Jose Teixeira (Ford Fiesta R5), close the Portuguese top 5.

A highlight also goes to Fernando Peres and Jose Pedro Silva’s spin, which caused them to lose a lot of time. The Ford Fiesta R5 driver, the all-time winner of the Azorean event, occupies a modest seventh place. Joao Barros and Jorge Henriques (Ford Fiesta R5) were doing a good run, but contact with a bank in SS Sete Cidades 1 cut short their participation in the rally, but they’ll be able to return tomorrow for Rally2.

In two-wheel drive, the leaders are Diogo Gago and Hugo Magalhaes (Peugeot 208 R2, 8th in overall national standing). Gil Antunes and Diogo Correia (Renault Clio R3T, 10th in overall national standing) are second in national 2WD, while Miguel Carvalho and Paulo Lopes (Citroen C2 R2 Max, 11th in overall national standing) closethe 2WD podium on the first day.

Saturday is the “all or nothing” day for the Azores Airlines Rallye drivers, with a double passage by Graminhais and Tronqueira. Meanwhile, they will have to make a new pass by the Super Special Grupo Marques and by Vila Franca/Sao Bras.

Leg 2 – Itinerary
Start – 08:30
SS11 – Graminhais 1 (20,96 km) – 10:16
SS12 – Tronqueira 1 (21,71 km) – 11:06
SS13 – Grupo Marques 2 (3,95 km) – 12:42
SS14 – Vila Franca/São Brás 2 (13,47 km) – 15:17
SS15 – Graminhais 2 (20,96 km) – 16:12
SS16 – Tronqueira 2 (21,71 km) – 17:02
Arrival and Podium (Ponta Delgada) – 19:10

Pos. # Driver Co-Driver Car Time
1 18 Ricardo Moura Antonio Costa Ford Fiesta R5 21:16,0
2 15 Pedro Meireles Mario Castro Skoda Fabia R5 +2:28,0
3 14 José Pedro Fontes Ines Ponte Citroen DS3 R5 +2:43,8
4 17 Miguel Barbosa Miguel Ramalho Skoda Fabia R5 +4:11,1
5 27 Ricardo Teodosio Jose Teixeira Ford Fiesta R5 +4:13,8
6 23 Carlos Vieira Jorge Carvalho Citroen DS3 R5 +4:45,1
7 19 Fernando Peres Jose Pedro Silva Ford Fiesta R5 +4:50,9
8 41 Diogo Gago Hugo Magalhaes Peugeot 208 R2 +6:23,4
9 26 Manuel Castro Luis Costa Skoda Fabia S2000 +6:34,4
10 44 Gil Antunes Diogo Correia Renault Clio R3T +10:59,8