Moura wins Azores Airlines Rallye for the National Championship

Ricardo Moura and António Costa (Ford Fiesta R5) won the 51st edition of the Azores Rallye, now called Azores Airlines Rallye. Embedded from the first time on struggle for the overall victory, soon they made known that they would be some steps further than other competitors for the National Championship and the focus would be centred at the remaining places of the podium.

At the end of the rally, Pedro Meireles and Mário Castro (Skoda Fabia R5) claimed the second best score between the National competitors, with the driver from Guimarães finishing second amongst National, sixth overall.

José Pedro Fontes and Inês Ponte (Citroen DS3 R5) came to the Azores with the purpose of maintaining this year’s National Championship scoreboard leadership. Some mistakes and some problems during the event made the reigning Portuguese rally champion loose some time, finishing third amongst Nationals, eight overall 33,8 seconds slower than Meireles/Castro.

On the National two wheel drive competition, Diogo Gago and Hugo Magalhães (Peugeot 208 R2) took some revenge over last year’s result and won the rally on 2WD overall, but most important amongst ERC Junior drivers.

Paulo Neto and Vitor Hugo (Citroen DS3 R3T) finished this year’s edition of Azores Airlines Rallye at the mid-podium place.

Miguel Carvalho and Paulo Lopes (Citroen C2 R2 Max) completed the top 3 scoreboard amongst 2WD competitors for the National rally championship.

Azores Airlines Rallye 2016 – National Championship Top 11
Pos Nr. Driver Codriver Car Time
1 18 Ricardo Moura António Costa Ford Fiesta R5 42:23,5
2 15 Pedro Meireles Mário Castro Skoda Fabia R5 05:44,1
3 14 José Pedro Fontes Inês Ponte Citroen DS3 R5 06:17,9
4 27 Ricardo Teodósio José Teixeira Ford Fiesta R5 07:01,2
5 17 Miguel Barbosa Miguel Ramalho Skoda Fabia R5 07:31,3
6 23 Carlos Vieira Jorge Carvalho Citroen DS3 R5 08:20,5
7 26 Manuel Castro Luis Costa Skoda Fabia S2000 11:23,2
8 41 Diogo Gago Hugo Magalhães Peugeot 208 R2 11:48,3
9 25 Elias Barros Ricardo Faria Ford Fiesta R5 21:17,3
10 43 Paulo Neto Vitor Hugo Citroen DS3 R3T 22:15,8
11 56 Miguel Carvalho Paulo Lopes Citroen C2 R2 Max 24:13,7

Photo credits: Aifa