The 57th Azores Rallye marked the beginning of another Azores Rally Championship. In this competition, the victory fell to Ricardo Moura who, after a year’s interregnum, resumed his career to make his presence in an event he won overall in 2016. The Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo driver accused some lack of rhythm in the confrontation with the world stars present in the organization of Grupo Desportivo Comercial but was always at the front of the regional competition.
Second place in this championship belonged to Luis Miguel Rego, 37.3 seconds behind the winner, in another Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo. The current holder of the title in the archipelago did a race thinking about the points for the competition established by the Portuguese Car and Karting Federation and registered the highest score among the pilots who will compete throughout the calendar.
In the “Azorean podium” was also Rúben Rodrigues at the wheel of a similar car to the first two. The driver made in this event his real debut with the Czech model and tried not to lose ground in the competition in his adaptation to a new reality. Fourth, Pedro Câmara was second among the locals in his Citroën C3 Rally2. However, a mistake at the start of the last special stage of the first leg caused him to fall to a position from which he never recovered. Bruno Amaral closed the group of the five best national drivers.